The Young Lawyers Committee seeks to further the interests of young lawyers by helping them establish themselves within the legal profession. They provide opportunities for new lawyers to develop their professional skills, providing networking opportunities to enable young lawyers to make new contacts, and encourage a positive and collegiate young lawyers’ community through social events, CPD seminars, networking events, and a mentor program. 

They coordinate Counsel to move the admissions of new lawyers, and organise free networking drinks to celebrate these newly-admitted lawyers and help connect them with their peers.

They are also working on a project to engage more closely with students undertaking the GDLP at ANU and College of Law at UC, which will provide students with information on the practicalities of admission, what the committee does, and help direct them to job placement opportunities.

The ACT Law Society defines a "young lawyer" as those who are admitted as legal practitioners, who practise in the ACT, and who are either in their first five years of practise or are under 35 years of age. 

You can contact the Chair of the Young Lawyers Committee directly on, or stay up to date with committee events and information on Facebook or LinkedIn.


  • Alyssa Dunn (Chair)
  • Laura Pierce (Vice Chair)
  • Andrew Chakrabarty (Secretary)
  • Rahul Bedi (Treasurer)
  • Emily Bowler
  • Adrienne Davis
  • Sinead de Sousa
  • Andrew Giddings
  • Adrian Hearne
  • Kahlia Jenkins
  • Angela Li
  • Steven McMahon
  • Rhys Mitchell
  • Sebastian Alonso Marquez Musso
  • Kumu Samarakoon
  • Monica Serci
  • Mariah Tennant
  • Sarah Wetton
  • Mitchell Wright

Related Links