Inclusion & Diversity Committee

The Inclusion & Diversity Committee is dedicated to promoting diversity, equality, respect, and inclusion in the ACT legal profession. The committee’s role is to progress initiatives to ensure inclusion, diversity, and equal opportunity for all members of the ACT legal profession, regardless of age, race, disability, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, intersex status, or social status. This work includes facilitating training and social events, maintaing a list of relevant resources for Law Society members, and engaging in policy reform related to inclusion and diversity issues affecting the legal profession.

The committee’s work over the past 12 months has included:

  • Engaging with similar professional groups, including the Women’s Lawyers Association and the Access to Justice Committee to explore areas of mutual interest
  • Finalising our content on the Law Society website, which includes links to resources relating to inclusion and diversity
  • Submitting a proposal to Council on formalising an increased use of acknowledgements of country and welcomes to country
  • Assisting the Asian Lawyers Association with publishing an expression of interest for its planned new ACT Chapter
  • Undertaking a preliminary consideration of whether it would be suitable to recommend affiliation with a new national body for inclusion and diversity
  • Considering the ACT Disability Justice Strategy for areas of relevance, including potentially holding a seminar on ‘Easy English’ as part of the CPD program

You can contact the committee directly through the Law Society's Committee Administrator on


  • Dominic Cookman (Chair)
  • Farzana Choudhury
  • Susan Lane
  • Petrina Schiavi
  • Kath Taplin
  • Tina Webster
  • Jessica White
  • Andrew Chakrabarty* (Young Lawyers Committee)

* regular guest/representative

Related Links