Questions about CPD

Continuing professional development (CPD) is a mandatory requirement for all ACT legal practitioners (practitioners), imposed as a condition on all practising certificates issued by the Law Society of the ACT. Subject to some exemptions, all practitioners must complete ten units of CPD between 1 April and 31 March each year. At least one unit must be completed in each of four core areas:

  • Core Area 1 — Legal ethics and professional responsibility
  • Core Area 2 — Practice management and business skills
  • Core Area 3 — Professional skills
  • Core Area 4 — Substantive law and procedural law

The purpose of CPD is to ensure the ongoing competence of practitioners, including ensuring that practitioners’ knowledge and skills remain current. The CPD Guidelines seek to assist practitioners understand their CPD obligations. Ultimately, practitioners must make their own assessment of their CPD needs and how best to fulfil them.