The Family Law Committee seeks to provide relevant information on family law practice and procedure, and networking opportunities for family law practitioners. The committee also provides liaison between the family courts and the profession, and responds to requests for submissions or comment.

The committee meets to monitor legislative changes affecting families and lawyers practising in the family law space.

The COVID-19 pandemic produced some alternative ways of representing clients and attending court. The introduction of video conferencing has been encouraging for some members and their clients, in particular those living in remote areas. The committee is hoping that some of this use of technology will remain in a post-COVID environment, to enable practitioners to enhance outcomes for families in more efficient and accessible ways.

You can contact the committee directly through the Law Society's Committee Administrator on


  • Kevin Robinson (Chair)
  • Stuart Cameron
  • Jacquelyn Curtis
  • Averil Foster
  • Kasey Fox
  • Ron Friesen
  • Cristina Huesch
  • Linda McGregor
  • Sarah Milson-Mahy
  • Di Simpson
  • Emily Tighe
  • Anna Wynne
  • Gavin Howard* (ACT Bar Association)

* regular guest/representative

Related Links